Vincent Floderer is a French artist that uses origami crumpling techniques to produce fantastic pieces of art.  Initially taught the crumpling technique by British Origami Artist Paul Jackson he has taken the artform to further heights.  He is most famous for his origami mushrooms, but you can see some pictures of his various works here; http://www.le-crimp.org/spip.php?page=portefolio2&id_article=2

I wanted to get some crinkled textures for my paper manipulations and stumbled upon his technique whilst researching for my origami tessellations.  There is a video of achieving the crumpling technique on youtube which is the one that I followed. I will leave a link to it at the end of my post.  I loved creating my crumpled pieces, but looking at what can be achieved I would love to know more as the applications for transferring onto fabric would be very interesting.  Below are my attempts at crumpling, can’t wait to try and add stitch to them.

I love the lines created with this technique, and the tissue paper gains almost an elastic memory when pulled apart, so it returns to its newly made form.

Here is the link to the crumpling instruction video with Eric Gjerde. Happy Crumpling! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pCVz-JkWaHg